awh look, she’s come back
Hey now.
after nearly ten days of abandonment, she’s decided to come crawling back
It was not intentional I sware!
i’m sure your readers had quite given up on you
If you’ll kindly shut up, I have fun things to tell my very forgiving readers
you only hope they are

Ahem. So hi … Yes, I know, it’s been a week. It’s been more than a week. I shall write a sincere appology soon. I just haven’t had much to share, you know?
So tomorrow is the big turkey day and everywhere people are cooking, or talking about cooking, or can’t wait to eat someone elses cooking. Unless you are new here –in which case welcome, and yes I do sometimes argue with my inner voice in different colors– you know this isn’t a food blog. I don’t pretend it’s a food blog though I like cooking and talk about it from time to time. Where there are food posts in the Vienna Woods, there is usually some form of injury recounted for you in humorous fashion.
I have had a busy few days in the kitchen lately though. Other than my finger, there is no ridiculous injury to recount, but I do have an awesome recipe I think needs to be shared. Wait for it … wait for it. . .

MICROWAVE CAKE IN A BOWL!!!

Yeah, you better believe I did.
There are about 3 reasons why this happened. 1. I wanted to make cake,
2. We are not rich in butter around here and I really didn’t want to hear anyone freak out about my using too much–never mind that I of course would have shared,
3. Is it even possible?
So of course, I calculated how much of everything I would need and tried it out. SUCCESS!
I love when that happens!
I used chocolate chips in mine, though in terms of cake, I usually like fruit better. It’s yummy and refreshing. Chocolate sometimes feels a little cloying to me–and please don’t shun me for saying so. But a cake with fresh fruit works for me just about any time. Hmm, though bananas have to be in their own category, just because they have such a different texture than other fruits.
Ok ok, enough of this talking. Here’s the recipe!

  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup flower
  • 1/2 stick butter, melted
  • about a tbsp or so of chocolate chips or fruit if you like

Whip eggs and sugar until fluffy. (I do not own fancy cooking tools, so I used a whisk), Add vanilla (yum). Gently fold in flour, melted butter and whatever else you are putting in, then poor in to a bowl either buttered or spraied with cooking spray, and microwave for about 1 minute. A fork or toothpick should come out with moist crums.

As a side note, I no nothing about egg substitute, but if you don’t do eggs, you’re looking for about 2 oz of whatever you replace it with (if that helps).
Then top it with whatever you like! Eat, chew, repete.

