Hello faithful readers!
Hmm let’s see, Happy Ides of March, St. Patric’s Day, continuation of Lent? Did I miss any other holidays while I was off being a neglectful blogger? No? Oh good, Hello then!
So, I do have a rather fun explanation as to where I’ve been, but all in good time. Today for you I have presents! Hope you enjoy.

It was not a bad smell so much as it was disconcerting; a curious mix of big cat and dusky mountainside with a touch of salt. The large powerful wings stretched languorously above the feathered head before folding quietly against the broad back. The large yellow eyes swept across the well-dressed figures before settling on the queen. She cleared her throat.
“I didn’t expect you to be so … large,” said Lady Matilda nervously.
The creature lifted his feathered head off his great paws and cocked it to one side.
“Matilda, dearest, this is perhaps not the time?” the king murmured urgently.
Lady Matilda straightened.
“Yes, well, I’ve just never seen a griffin in person before. Do you eat? That is, would you have some pheasant?”
The griffin spoke for the first time; displaying the impeccable manners inherent in all griffins.
“Oh, I couldn’t,” he said. Then the creature delicately lifted the meat from the proffered plate with his beak and downed the entire thing in one swallow. Turning his back on the goggle-eyed ladies, he began to clean himself. When that was done, he recrossed his paws and settled before Lady Matilda once more.
“Now your majesty,” he said, “your hospitality has been most generous, but I don’t believe you sent for me simply to feed me a hot meal?”
The ladies glanced nervously down at their various needlepoints as Lady Matilda came back to herself.
“Yes, the matter at hand,” she said. “You may have heard that we are no longer a thriving kingdom. We were once a land of great exports and heroic feats, but now even our crop is failing. It gives me great pain to admit this to you, and I know all of us here agree, but after much deliberation, the other noblewomen and I have come up with the cause for our difficulties.”
The griffin looked politely inquisitive.
“Lack of quality young men,” Lady Matilda stated.
“Young men?” asked the griffin.
“There’s no one to marry our daughters off to,” one of the noblewomen spoke for the first time.
“The shepherds and tradesmen are fine for the commoners,” Lady Matilda continued, “but we can’t very well marry our daughters to them.”
Though she spoke with all the politeness her breeding dictated, the significance of her words was not lost. Our daughters are the future queens and noblewomen.
“And what would you have me do, if I may be so bold as to ask, your ladyship?” the griffin inclined his head.
“We want a dragon.”

