I still have yet to give this on-going story of mine a proper title, but I’ll at least think of something to call it soon.
Here’s some more for you.

The powerful wings flapped effortlessly as the griffin soared high over the kingdom. Just who did those people think they were anyhow? Oh sure they ruled the kingdom right enough, but did they truly believe that gave them the right to just disregard the suffering of others? Then there was that queen. She certainly acted the royal part; so why insist on being called a mere lady?
“You do understand, your majesty, that what you ask is impossible?” he had said.
The queen had smiled a gentle smile of condescension.
“I know what we have been told, but I believe no such impossibility.”
“But surely you’ve heard how things were for the dragons of old?”
“You see Matilda,” the king spoke up. “It’s just like I’ve been telling you; the knights who fought the great dragons of old slew them all. The world has been rid of dragons; let’s just find another way and let this nice griffin be on his way back to … back to … oh back to wherever it is he comes from.”
“I don’t believe that story. I believe that the dragons have merely disappeared and now we need them back.”
The griffin dipped his great feathered head.
“I’m afraid I don’t see what you want me to do about this your majesty. I am a creature of great ability it’s true, but I’m no sorcerer.”
“Perhaps this is true,” the queen conceded, “but griffins are legendary for their knowledge are they not? And everyone knows you bridge the worlds between the people and the dragons and other such great creatures.”
“I am deeply sorry your majesty, but I know of only one very old dragon and he is already dying. He is in no position to fight a warrior full of life.”
“Surely even a dying dragon looks frightening enough,” the king chimed in, suddenly excited. “We can have him put on a show and charge people from kingdoms all over to come see him.”
“Don’t be ridiculous Roderick,” Lady Matilda sighed. Then she turned back to the griffin. “So you won’t help us?”
“I can not. I am sorry.”
“Very well then. It was just an idea anyway.”
But when the griffin had left, Lady Matilda turned back to the king and her ladies.
“If the griffin won’t help us, then we’ll find some other way. Where’s Sives?”
Instantly a servant appeared and was quickly dispatched to find the royal scribe.
As the griffin flew, happy to see the kingdom fading in the distance and believing he had done his duty, something small began to stir between his great shoulders. The spiny body unfurled as scarlet wings stretched upward and claws like obsidian flexed. Then the crested head rose on its serpentine neck and yawned a smoky, many-toothed yawn.
“The nerve of some people,” it said.

